DIY: Plastic Storage Drawers Makeover

This past weekend, I moved into my new apartment in Uptown, Minneapolis! Moving was quite hectic and very expensive. I found myself in dire need of a bedside table, but without the desire to actually spend money on it. I already had this set of cheap plastic drawers so I thought I would find a way to give them a little makeover to make them work as a cute side-table. The solution? Pretty paper!

before-after

The paper hides the clutter inside the drawers and it gives my new bedroom a pop of color and pattern. This didn’t take long at all and it was so much less expensive than buying something new!

Here’s how you can recreate the look!

tools-needed

1. Measure each drawer and cut a piece of colored paper to fit.

2. Use the clear tape – or any other type of adhesive you have on hand to secure the paper to the front of the drawer. I used a piece on each side and then two more to secure it to the bottom so it would sit flat against the front.

inside-drawer

3. Repeat for each drawer and that’s it!

See? Super easy and very inexpensive! Now I have a side-table that matches my room/ style perfectly and I have a side table with a ton of storage!

Tagged

10 thoughts on “DIY: Plastic Storage Drawers Makeover

  1. Great idea! Looks good 🙂

  2. robert says:

    I think you know how to write a really valuable post. Thanks!

  3. […] All pictures taken from Uptown Girl. […]

  4. Karen VanRavenswaay says:

    So simple-after you thought of it first, of course, that is.

  5. dee says:

    what kind of paint should i use if i wanted to paint my plastic storage drawers mine is blue i would like for it to be black..

  6. […] paper to help spruce them up (Picture 1). To get a full tutorial on how to do this visit uptowngirlmn.  If you’re not so into the idea of using scrapbooking paper you can try the second option, […]

  7. […] we love Uptown Girl’s great idea to line them with fun, printed paper. Bonus? It keeps all your goods from being on […]

Leave a Reply

